Top 10 Facts About the “S” Word

What stood out to you?

To me what stood out was the number one fact.  It really blew me away to think about it.  I heard in another video I watched recently that the old abolitionists were able to bring down the transatlantic slave trade in 20 years.  How would our world change if we found a way to end modern slavery in just 20-25 years.  You and I could see the end of it!  Our children’s children would have to read about it in books and wonder what they would have done if they were in our shoes, living in a world with slavery still alive and well.  Today we everyday abolitionists take courage from folks like Harriet Tubman and William Wilberforce.  Tomorrow our grandchildren and great-grandchildren will take courage from our stories… IF we rise up and all play our part in bringing them a world without slavery.

Here are some ideas on how you can get started:

5 Easy Ways to Fight Human Trafficking

Take Action

About nicole5181

I'm thirty (yes I admit it). I'm a single mom working in retail and wanting to find my role in the fight to end modern-day slavery. I'm hopeful that I will.
This entry was posted in Authors' Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top 10 Facts About the “S” Word

  1. Kristen says:

    I would say that it shocked me to think that the average cost of a slave is just $90. Wow! If it weren’t for the fact that it wouldn’t make the people stop using slaves, I would think that we could get a bunch of people to buy slaves’ freedom. $90 a year isn’t that big of a deal.

  2. Pingback: Pop Quiz on Modern Slavery | Everyday Abolitionist

Leave a comment